TAKE A BLACK GAL TO THE THEATRE!

TAKE A BLACK GIRL TO THE THEATRE….

 

 

Since starting to prepare for my production NTSIKI SPEAKS at this year’s Grahamstown National Arts Festival, I have realised that this is a divinely blessed production and process. I have received so much love and support, I wondered how I could make my blessings spread around to other people.

 

As you know I have always been the voice of the Black Gal. My 1st popular poem Hey Black Girl is a true reflection of my commitment to the advancement and betterment of black girls especially in South Africa. I have always been crazy about the black girl. I have always addressed issues affecting the Black Gal. My purpose in life, is to use my gifts to empower the Black Gal.

 

It hit me like a ton of bricks when I realised that I had the opportunity to gather some black girls and share the NTSIKI SPEAKS experience with them. I want girls from eRhini to have access and from the neighbouring village, Peddie.

 

I don’t have the money to pay for all their tickets, but I do have a following that has disposable income and is thirsty to make a difference. People can give by giving a Black gal access to the theatre. The Black Gal can see herself reflected on stage and know that anything is possible. We want to inspire dreams and we want to inspire greatness with this initiative.

 

Who knows, maybe the next Dolly Rathebe will be a girl from Peddie.

 

To donate tickets: buy tickets at https://www.nationalartsfestival.co.za/events/ntsiki-speaks/ and send your confirmation to ntsiki_mazwai@yahoo.com and cc akhona.daweti@nationalartsfestival.co.za

 

Tickets are R50 each. Please book on the 2nd of April as the daytime show accommodates travel arrangements from the village.

 

Thank you so much for your support

 

Hey Black Gal

Hey Black Gal

With any issues

Throw away you box of tissues

The time has come for emancipation

Sing our song of celebration

 

Hey black ngehips nempundu

Awusemhle ntaka

Yamandla

Bendicela ukubamba isandla

No one works those hips

The way that you do

I found that it’s true

These hips are for keeps

Hey black gal ngehips nempundu

Ngamaxesha akho

Stand up and be counted!

 

Hey Black Gal

With any issues

Throw away you box of tissues

The time has come for emancipation

Sing our song of celebration

 

Hey blue, blue black girl

Let it go

You fear of yellows, reds and greens

Their sentence was lean

For their misinterpretation

Of her celebration

Of being mother creation

Iintsikelelo kuwe

Black ndlovukazi

 

Hey Black Gal

With any issues

Throw away you box of tissues

The time has come for emancipation

Sing our song of celebration

 

Hey black gal

Ngenwele ezineGrowth!

Ziyeke

Zinake

Ngamandla akho

Curled, locked and entwined

It’s divine

The message in your hair

Hey black gal

Ngama afro puff

strut your stuff

Show them

This is not a bluff

 

Hey Black Gal

With any issues

Throw away you box of tissues

The time has come for emancipation

Sing our song of celebration

Leave a Reply

